The following statement has been signed by 160 members of the Princeton University faculty and staff as of 18 April 2022. It asks that Princeton by the end of this calendar year no longer seek profit from continued investment in fossil fuels. Since this statement was opened for signature, Princeton University has made public that:

- The Princeton endowment's total fossil fuel exposure is roughly 4.5%, or about \$1.7 billion
- In the past five years the University has received \$26.2 million in new funding from eleven oil and gas companies

(Source: Hilary A. Parker, Vice President and Secretary of Princeton University, <u>Dissociation Update</u>, Council of the Princeton University Community, March 21, 2022)

Princeton Faculty & Staff Petition in support of Full Divestment from Fossil Fuels

As the world, of clear necessity, rapidly disengages from carbon-emitting energy sources, we believe it incompatible with the University's moral principles to seek profit from continued investment in fossil fuels. We thus call on its leaders to adopt a policy of complete divestment during this calendar year, in keeping with the majority of lvy League peer institutions.

Since 2013, many Princetonians have advocated for fossil fuel divestment. In May 2021, the University's Trustees authorized a process to consider dissociation from fossil fuel companies currently spreading climate disinformation, or involved in coal and tar sands production (which together account for less than 25% of US fossil fuel emissions). We feel this is not enough; we are fast losing the only home we have.

Former Princeton president Harold Shapiro said, "One aspect of a student's moral education lies not in the curriculum but in the behavior of the faculty, staff, and administration and in the policies of the institution." We are faculty and staff proud to work at a university whose slogan reflects its global reach and ambitions—
"Princeton in the nation's service and the service of humanity"—and we join thousands of students and alumni in asking that, on this of all issues, our actions align with our aspirations.

Signatures as of 4/18/2022

David Wilcove Su Friedrich Rachel Price Zia Mian Peter Wirzbicki V. Mitch McEwen **Rob Nixon** Jason Rhode Kate Thorpe Denise L. Mauzerall Andrew Cole Sara Constantino Anne McClintock Raphael Piguet Karen Mink Jerry Zee Bent-Jorgen Perlmutt Seth Denizen Karl Kusserow Sandie Blaise Susan Stewart **Curtis Deutsch** Sophie Gee Gillian Knapp Kenneth Hammond Meredith Martin **Bradin Cormack** Frank N. von Hippel Nicole Legnani Christina A. León

Daniel Garber Ben Baer Lindy McBride Katie Chenoweth Miguel A. Centeno Naomi Murakawa Pedro Meira Monteiro Christina Riehl Ryo Morimoto Rvan Darr Michael D. Gordin Allison Wolf Deborah Kaple Allison Carruth Ronni Baer Gayle Salamon Joshua Guild Bryan R. Just Alberto Bruzos Moro Holly Caggiano Zoe Kwok Lee Klocksin Susan Sugarman Gyan Prakash

Gavin Steingo Erin Besler Andrea L Graham Stanley Allen Behrooz Ghamari-Tabrizi Robert Hawkins Tamsen Wolff Max Weiss Anna Brouwer Barbara Nagel Sonya Legg Beth Gollnick

Sarah M. Anderson Spyros Papapetros Stephanie Whetstone

Brooke Holmes Johannes Wankhammer Kim Wishart

Sebastien Philippe Joshua Billings Katherine Bussard
Marina Rustow Deborah Yashar Alexia Hughes
Fazal Sheikh Susan Wheeler Ian Bourg

Jeff DolvenJohn BornemanRosemary GrantMolly GreeneStewart PragerDan-el Padilla Peralta

Russ Leo Alex Glaser Jenn Lyons
Michael Strauss Elliott Lieb Stanley N. Katz
Bryan Lowe Judith Weisenfeld Forrest Meggers
Margot Canaday Julia Elyachar Thomas Y Levin

Susana Draper Igor Moric Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor

Steven Chung Rena Lederman Elie Bou-Zeid
Jeff Snyder Satyel Larson Ning Lin

Sarah Chihaya Rachael Z. DeLue Andrew Chignell
Melissa Lane Karen Emmerich Carmelita Becnel
Irene Small Yael Niv Kevin M. Kruse
Anastasia Mann Andrew Leifer Kathy Wagner

Aleksandar Hemon

Gabriela Nouzeilles

Anne A. Cheng German Labrador Kanu Sinha

João Biehl

Hal Foster Mendez Jessica Thompson
Denis Feeney Sara Al-Sayed Stephan Thiberge
Divya Cherian Pamela A Patton James Barkas
Zahid Chaudhary David Stirk Aaron Landsman
Barron Bixler Laura Giles Mark Drury

Sean Cashbaugh Janet Rauscher Christiane Fellbaum

Eve Aschheim Mitra Abbaspour Andy Dobson
Shachi Gawande Janna Israel Peter D. Meyers

Matthew Karp

Darcy James Argue

Idra Novey

Noah Buchholz

Erin West

Aron Talenfeld

V. Balaji

Jeff Whetstone

Emile Askey

Guy Nordenson

Tera W. Hunter